Simpsons = 400 but our “Future” is already gone

Congratulations to the “Simpsons”. 400 episodes, and I look forward to the movie. It was fun to see the original sketch open the 400th earlier this evening. It’s too bad though they wasted a lot of the funny on the police dog/snake episode a week ago (one of my favorites I think). But they still weren’t bad, solid episodes in fact.  Seeing the Simpsons having come so far though makes me sad about Groening’s other cartoon venture, “Futurama”. A show I didn’t get into when it first happened upon the scene, but the more I see on Adult Swim, the more I love.

It’s sad to see some of the best shows disappear. “Arrested Development” was another. As was the cop drama “Boomtown”.

But I’m going to stick to the point. The more I see “Futurama” the more I love it. An episode hit me so hard in fact recently that I literally went from weeping in fits of laughter to weeping out of sheer sadness. Something about the episode in which we see how the hero, Fry, has been sent to the future and his dog that tries to find him, hit me somewhere deep down. I saw it coming too. I felt it sneaking up on me. I knew it was going to happen and when it did, I couldn’t stop myself from crying. I couldn’t help it! It was beautiful and sad. It just shows the true brilliance of what this show was and what it could have continued being. It’s probably become one of my favorite television episodes of all time. For those of you who have seen this episode and you don’t know what I’m talking about, I pity you. For those who haven’t seen this episode, it’s a good one to start with…actually a great one to start with. Even if you don’t wish to watch the rest of the series, which I’m going to start doing. But don’t…DO NOT look up the scene on youtube. You have to see the whole friggin’ episode!

Not much makes me cry like that. I’ve been told Kurosawa’s “Ikiru” can make a grown man cry. I unfortunately put the second side of the movie in first (a two-sided Japanese DVD! You might have done it too!) and watched the second half first. I was so confused I wrote to Roger Ebert and thoroughly confused him as well, but one of these days I’ll go back and watch the whole thing and I hope it affects me in a similarly profound way. The other film of the last few years that made me weep was the first half of the HBO mini-series “Angels in America”. It overwhelmed me so that I crawled into the bathroom and curled up in a fetal position and wept for awhile. Not much gets me that deeply. Now I can add “Futurama” to the list. It’s nice to find those.

Anyone willing to admit to their’s?

4 Responses to “Simpsons = 400 but our “Future” is already gone”

  1. Josh Says:

    Nothing very unpredictable here, and no fetal-position scenes either, but the ones that have the power to consistently choke me up are:

    – That scene in Braveheart where the little girl gives the boy the flower at the funeral (before she giggles and all pathos dissapears)
    – That other scene in Braveheart where the wife appears through the crowd at the end–But James Horner is to blame as much as the story, I think.
    – Kevin Costner throwing the ball with his dad in Field of Dreams (and who did that score again?)
    – Agatha at her mother’s bedside in The Wanderers (every single time, still)

    That last one is the only sure thing, though. I’m in a very different place than I was when those first three scenes got to me. I wonder if they still have the same power.

    What Futurama episode are you talking about specifically? Season and number..

  2. Phillip Says:

    It’s from the Fifth season of Futurama, Episode Two- Jurassic Bark.

    The flower scene in Braveheart makes me sniffle as well. Good old James Horner, his score for Commando makes me well up with unexpected emotions.

  3. robgokee Says:

    As someone who owns all four seasons of Futurama, and has watched every episode multiple times, the one with Fry’s petrified dog is my favorite (and I get choked up every time I watch the ending). Keep an eye out for the one where Fry thinks his brother stole his identity, that’s another tear-jerker.

  4. The Simpson Movie: Review? No a reaction! « Phil-zine! Says:

    […] The only other thing I can say is that now listed on IMDB.com are four new episode or movies or something of “Futurama”, each with a subheading of their own. http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0004981/ I can only hope that the writers here have also grown and we’ll see moments as magnificent as the one I wrote about in an earlier post, here. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

