Archive for August 31st, 2007

Browsing instead of sleeping: The call of “Frisky Dingo”

August 31, 2007

killfaceI hate the nights when things weigh so heavily you just can’t sleep, and most of it when it comes down to it is exaggeration in the heat of imagination.

So, what do you do? Finish writing that screenplay? Start that next book? Write in your blog? Or do you spend hours wandering around watching other people’s lives through their home videos and short films? We can see which one I’m choosing to do at the moment, only because I don’t want to focus on something that means something to me, I mean really means something to me…I am supposed to be sleeping after all.

And this next thing that I have to say is pretty imperative when it comes to things that I don’t necessarily live or die for, but the 10 minute, once a week cartoon on Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim called “Frisky Dingo” is about the closest thing to ten minutes of tv perfection I have ever seen. All of the seasons first episodes can be found on youtube.com. But it was the first episode of the second season that recently took the jump from a clever send up of the fan boy geek world I grew up in with some of the most intricately designed characters I’ve ever seen, into a full blown commentary on just about everything.

(more…)


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.