Everybody’s Marketing! Film and Theatre.

Not only does being Artistic Director of a theatre company (Theatre Unleashed) keep me too busy to make any money, but you couple that along with acting in the shows, writing original material for the shows, producing the shows, being at every meeting and on every committee…well, you start to see where my 40 hours a week goes.

But it’s all for a great cause (my need to be an artist), and I’m learning too much. More than I ever wanted to. I jest, it’s a good thing.

But all of the chores that pertain to the skill sets above, the one I didn’t mention, and the one that challenges me in ways that I enjoy is being the Viral Marketer on the Marketing Committee. As much as I love live theatre, I do love film, and this gives me the opportunity to combine both of my passions. Basically I’m shooting short films to help promote the stage shows.

But they aren’t just short films. The trailers are dictated by the tone of the shows. They have to get people curious enough to pay 20 bucks and sit in a seat for two hours…a few more dollars than a movie with explosions and stars. You have to excite them about the live experience.

Here’s a trailer I put together for our currently running show (check out the website for details and come see it! I’ll have a few other trailers below.

It’s like playing. I get to explore and stretch myself as a visual storyteller, as an editor and director. And it’s challenging…refer to the above paragraph.

I’ve always loved movie trailers, but recently I’ve also been paying attention to ad campaigns…billboards and such. One billboard that I think is genius (and that I’m a week late getting to – thank you Entertainment Weekly for beating me to the punch!) is the new billboard for The Happening. M. Knight’s new movie.

Anybody that reads me knows I like to close my eyes during trailers these days. TOO MUCH IS GIVEN AWAY, even when they don’t mean to I pick up too much and without trying put pieces together. It lessens the fun of the movie when you see it. So, I know nothing about The Happening. Other than it’s an M. Knight movie, it opens on Friday the 13th…and in a big bold red letter in the bottom corner of the giant sign next to the road is an “R”. M. Knight making an “R” rated movie…that’s all I need to know. I’m there.

The new posters for the Mummy film are also quite ingenious. They avoid showing Brendan Frasier all together. It might be a little confusing to have him on the posters of two big budget movies this year (also including Journey to the Center of the Earth in 3-D). Knowing it’s a franchise instead they put the big glowing “M” on it and have a face of the new Mummy falling apart. It’s really nifty and smart.

Anyway, as I continue marketing, I’ll continue posting my trailers and ideas here.

As promised…two more…

<object width=”425″ height=”344″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/X3XexoB-CL8&hl=en”></param><embed src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/X3XexoB-CL8&hl=en&#8221; type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” width=”425″ height=”344″></embed></object>

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

