Archive for October 12th, 2007

“Michael Clayton”: rolling in the grey zone

October 12, 2007

michael clayton

It used to be that September and October were the graveyard months for movies that just weren’t going to cut it, that down time when little surprises like Saw had a chance. This year however has been wildly different. I’ve already seen some of my favorite movies of the year since late September. Michael Clayton is one of them.

When I initially saw the trailer I was far from wowed. It’s not that the film looked boring, which it did, but it looked like it followed suit with all of those other self-important star driven lawyer movies in which a big company killing hundreds of people will be taken down by the guy who is a lost cause himself. But trailers are deceptive. When I read that George Clooney originally wanted to direct it, I decided to give it a second chance. The one thing I respect about Clooney is that he’s a story teller first. He’ll put his own ego behind and tell something he thinks is important to tell. I’m glad I gave it a second chance. (more…)